Frankie Boyle on the shortlist for his first novel OCN News

COMEDIAN Frankie Boyle is one of six writers shortlisted for the Bloody Scotland Debut Prize.

The first award was launched in 2019, and two of its previous winners – Claire Askew and Deborah Masson – continued to feature on the long list for this year’s main McIlvanney award.

The judges for this year’s top prize are Arusa Qureshi, former editor of The list magazine, which replaces Janice Forsyth – Simon Lloyd of the Waterstones bookstore chain, and Kenny Tweeddale of sponsor Glencairn.

The shortlist is:

  • Tariq Ashkanani, Welcome to Cooper (Thomas & Mercer, Amazon);
  • Frankie Boyle, In the meantime (John Murray);
  • Amanda Michison, The wolf hunters (nascent press);
  • George Paterson, The girl, the crow, the writer and the fighter (In pounds);
  • arah Smith, hear no evil (Two Roads).

The first prize and the McIlvanney Prize will be awarded on September 15 at the start of this year’s Bloody Scotland Book Festival in Stirling.

“For the first time, the presentation will take place after the torchlight procession through Stirling, so that all shortlisted authors can take their place in front,” organizers said.

“The procession will conclude with a formal event at the Albert Halls, where the two winners will be revealed, and Janice Forsyth will interview them live on stage.”

Read more literary news on Scottish fieldbook pages.

Plus, don’t miss our comprehensive book reviews section in the July issue of Scottish field magazine.

The Ultimate Managed Hosting Platform