NDA presidential candidate Draupadi Murmu will file his nomination today OCN NEWS

Governor of Jharkhand Draupadi Murmu. (Image: PTI)

New Delhi: NDA-nominated presidential candidate led by the Bharatiya Janata Party, Draupadi Murmu, is due to file her candidacy papers on Friday. The sources also informed that Prime Minister Narendra Modi will put forward his name for the nomination on June 24, which will be endorsed by the party’s national chairman, JP Nadda.

The sources also informed ANI that the BJP has invited all its allies to join the nomination ceremony, including the top ministers of the country’s NDA-led states.

Meanwhile, the leader of the National People’s Party (NPP) and Chief Minister of Meghalaya, Conrad Sangma, and the Chief Minister of Nagaland, Nephiu Rio have already confirmed their participation in the nomination for the presidential election on Friday. . It is also said that Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar will also be present during the appointment.

On Wednesday evening, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik appealed to all MPs in Odisha to support Murmu’s candidacy.

Notably, Biju Janata Dal (BJD), led by Naveen Patnaik, is not an NDA ally, but is often seen supporting the NDA government on crucial bills and the legislature. He has openly come out and supported Murmu’s candidacy for the upcoming presidential elections due to be held on July 18.

During a press conference at the party headquarters on Monday, JP Nadda announced that Draupadi Murmu was the NDA’s candidate for the upcoming presidential election.

Nadda also said that more than 20 names were discussed by the BJP parliamentary council and all NDA allies before finalizing Murmu as the presidential candidate.

Draupadi Murmu is set to become the next President of India and if this materializes, she will be India’s first tribal female President and India’s second female President since her independence.

Draupadi Murmu, former minister of Odisha, is Odisha’s first presidential candidate from a major political party or alliance. She continues to break down barriers and was the first female governor of Jharkhand. She served as Governor of Jharkhand from 2015 to 2021.

In 2007, the Odisha assembly honored her with the “Nilakantha Award” for best MP. She was a Junior Assistant in the Department of Irrigation and Power between 1979 and 1983. She held several organizational positions in the BJP and was Vice President of ST Morcha State in 1997.

Voting for India’s next president will begin on July 18 while counting will take place on July 21.

ALSO READ: YSRC extends support for NDA presidential candidate Draupadi Murmu